Dr. Chit Chan Gunn


Dr. Gunn is a Vancouver doctor with a world-wide reputation for relieving chronic pain without drugs. A pioneer in the treatment of pain, Gunn is noted for introducing a new theory for chronic pain and also for developing a method of needle treatment known as intramuscular stimulation (IMS). He specializes in alleviating chronic pain due to nerve damage (neuropathy) which is specifically helped by using acupuncture needles for intramuscular stimulation (IMS).

Dr. Gunn matriculated at Peterhouse, Cambridge University, and was elected to an Honorary Fellowship of the College in 1997. He is president of the Institute for the Study and Treatment of Pain in Vancouver, Clinical Professor at the University of Washington in Seattle, and Honorary Professor at the University of British Columbia.

In 2001, Dr. Gunn was awarded the Order of British Columbia as well as the Order of Canada, the Nation’s highest honor. Dr. Gunn was admitted as a Companion of the Guild of Cambridge Benefactors and elected as a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians. He has also received the Janet Travell Clinical Pain Management Award in 2003.

Over the years, Gunn IMS has trained hundreds of doctors and physiotherapists from all around the world. Dr. Gunn has endowed the University of British Columbia and the University of Washington with the responsibility of teaching and researching the Gunn IMS model of chronic pain.

Dr. Gunn is the founder and president of The Institute for the Study and Treatment of Pain (iSTOP, this website) and continues with his clinical practice in Vancouver.


Published Works

Recent Activity

iSTOP Legacy Website

LISTENING IN MEDICINE the whiplash mysterya & other tales
Some Canadian Physicians, Chapter 15 pg 127-132
C. CHAN GUNN (1931- )

Our gratitude goes out to all iSTOP members and donors for making this directory possible. 

Thank you for making GunnIMS resources available to the public, for patients, practitioners, researchers and enthusiasts alike.

Gunn IMS "points" the way!

2019 © The Institute for the Study and Treatment of Pain
2012 © Link back to the future Legacy Website


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software